Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Not sure I can do this
kim63 posted:
I am new to Web MD after learning my triglycerides are dangerously high and I have fatty liver. I am 50, a chronic dieter who finds herself 50 lbs or so overweight.
I have no confidence that I can sustain any kind of food/exercise changes long term.
I'm at a loss really. My weight has always been something that would be nice to lose, but has never impacted my lifestyle. Except now it is affecting my health and that changes it.
The only thing I am sure of is I can't do it alone. And so I post this in hopes that someone can help. I need some kind of accountability.
How does a chronic dieter turn it around to be about health and not the weight loss? The more I have focused on the number on the scale, the more my weight goes up. It's crazy isn't it?
Thanks for listening...I need to figure this out. Stop focusing on what I have never been able to do (negative) and focus on where I go from here (positive)
I can't let my discouragement get the best of me!
Kim

jis4judy responded:
Hi Kim63
welcome aboard Your post spoke to me I was the same way my health was getting bad so I woke one morning with the idea to heck with weight loss the very least I can do for my body is clean up my eating habits . thats when i started my Nutrition quest ... began to read labels so I could avoid the trans fats and artificial sugars . I have been eating healthy 90% of the time for the last nearly 10 years and it is working to make me healthier . I avoid most proccessed foods and eat fruits vegies whole grains lean meats in proper portions and limited nuts . this plan accually after being on it for 3 years thats when My life long struggle with asthma no longer needed medication all my joints felt better
and the reason I did this was my eyes were diagnosed with macular degeneration and at the time there was zero treatment so that why I started my quest for better nutrition