Skip to content
My weight gain... Post PTSD
An_254548 posted:
Hello Group,

I am sure I gained the majority of my weight prior to finally being diagnosed with PTSD (Disabled Military Veteran). I was constantly eating due to depression and anxiety issues. I would eat when I was sad, happy and all of the in between. I was known for my coke bottle look and now I am still shaped like a bottle just not a coke! lol Anyway I guess I will have to get out more and get to walking. Since I have had two children and one that passed. That did not help me out much really in the depression comfort eating department.

jis4judy responded:
Hello first I want to thank you for your service !
I am assuming you are a usa veteran
losing a child is probably the most difficult thing to deal with I have no experience with that but I have children and could not imagine losing either of them .
I do know grief can feel like huge part of you is missing I felt that way when My Mom passed I gained weight for a few years after her passing,, It took me a while to get the idea I was doing harm to myself and my family by not taking the measures needed to make myself as healthy as I could .
eating for nutrition is the way to go ,,fueling your body with all it needs and no more than that will get you where you want to be ,,
welcome aboard
others will be putting in the other stuff you need to think about
Hugs Judy
SW 247 CW 150ish maintaining

Remember the Gold is not in the prize it's in the Journey
life may not be the Party we expected but while we are here we may as well dance

totallywiggedout responded:
Like Judy, I commend you and appreciate you on your service. Thank you.
Also, very sorry to hear that you were injured and that you have lost a child. Depression from either would be far from inexcusable. Just make sure that you give yourself some time to "just breathe" every day.