Skip to content
Hey All!
thelovelyjd posted:
Hi Group,

I've got a lot more than 50-100 lbs to lose, but the word on the dieting community street is that this is the most happening (and supportive/encouraging) group on the interwebs.

Not to be redundant... but here is my introduction from the other group (100+ lbs to lose).

I'm sure there are/will be lots of newcomers to the boards with resolutions and such still going strong. I've been somewhat successful in weight loss in the past (lost around 85 lbs in just over 6 months) but gained it all back after some emotional/life setbacks.

I'm currently the heaviest I've ever been, and since I'm also the oldest I've ever been, it is really affecting my life. I've always been big, but this is just ridiculous and I know it.

I'm an attorney and have a full time non-legal job as well. I work all the time and as such, I ate out a lot. By the time I get home in the evenings I was too tired to care about what I was eating. My crazy schedule also led to a lot of late nights, early mornings, and little sleep. I've committed to changing all of that in the future. I can't make any money at all if I'm dead. I also felt like I had earned some hard living... I graduated recently, became licensed, and started to practice on my own. I rewarded myself with cookies and ice cream like I was a dog learning new tricks.

So, that being said, I'm around 400 pounds at the moment. I was around 375 when I started my prior weight loss experience and ended up around 285. I was quite happy at 285, but realizing that number is 115 pounds away is a cruel realization.

My initial goal is to get to 345 in the next five months. To up the ante and increase motivation, I've purchased a gift certificate for two float-tank sessions (the tanks have a 350 weight limit) intended to help reduce stress and detox a bit.