Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I'm New To This! =)
sarahurquidez2014 posted:
Hi everyone! I'm a 24 year old university student looking to start a lifestyle change. I weigh 210 lbs right now and I want to get fit. The number on the scales don't matter as much as my desire to boost my energy and do daily tasks without running out of breath. I have a gym membership and don't mind working out, but I'm at a loss for what exercises to do and how to manage my emotional eating habits. Any helpful advice or professional opinions would be greatly appreciated!

jis4judy responded:
welcome aboard Sarah
we donlt really have any pros on board but we do have a few been there done that people including myself
Debbie Amber and myself are all maintaining after a significant weight loss ... the thing to remember is diets only work while you are on them so it is better to make a plan you can live with that is full of healthy foods eliminate processed foods as much as possible they are poison to your body
we can offer support and help you celebrate your success
also be aware that changing your way of eating will take a lot of planning and there will be slips the key is to make the slips far apart and eat the plan a good 80-90 % of the time

your plan should include fruits vegies lean meats fish if you like it whole grains low fat or fat free dairy
seeds and nuts in moderation .. learn serving sizes and eventually you will do this easily it gets easier over time
I have been on my plan over 10 years maintaining the healthy body is doing what you did to get there

if you calculate the calories you need for you goal weight that could be your calories to get there always use the sedentary mode in the things like fitday.com or web mds fitness planner these sites are free to use and can help to plan your approach ...
Hugs Judy
SW 247 CW 150ish maintaining

Remember the Gold is not in the prize it's in the Journey