Skip to content
Tessa
An_201664 posted:
Hello. I just discoved webMd. I have 120+ pounds to lose.The sad thing about it is in 2002 I lost 112 lbs. but have gained it all back plus some. I have been real heavy my whole life & have been on several diets or "lifestyle changes". I feel like I know what it takes to lose weight but I have no motivation. This year I turned 50, everything is starting to hurt more, my knees, back & ankles.Exercise was a big part of my previous weight loss & we do have an eliptical machine, I feel like I have to get some weight off before I start back on the machine or I will hurt myself. Diabetes is very strong in my family history. I have a doctors appointment scheduled & I'm fearing the worst. I've been back on a healthier eating regime for about 10 days now. More water, fruits & vegetables, less red meats & most importantly portion control. I work in the restaurant business & have for the past 25+ years. Bakery items have always been my biggest weakness.

My husband & I have a tweenager at home & I want to be around to see her grow up & be a part of her life & maybe someday to see grandchildren.
Does anyone have any good tips for moral support or staying motivated? It's so hard to walk by those cookies coming out of the oven all day at work.
Was this Helpful?
10 of 12 found this helpful

kittykatjenn responded:
Welcome to the board! You will find a lot of great advice and support here.

It sounds like you already know what to do. It would be had to pass up the yummy sweets at work all day. That is my weakness also. My suggestion would be to keep some sweet snacks with you that are healthy. I have cookies and cupcakes and all sorts at my office all the time. I keep sugar free chocolate pudding and gluetin free chocolate rice cakes. I haven't touched a piece of candy or girl scout cookie in almos 4 weeks! The temptation has gone away a lot as well.

I hope you get good news at your doc appointment. Keep us updated!

jean4u responded: