Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Digestive Disorders Health Center | Heartburn/GERD Health Center | Crohn's Disease Health Center | Celiac Disease Health Center | IBS Health Center | IBD Health Center | Hepatitis Community | The health professionals are not available at the current time to answer community members' questions.
Have you tried DGL licorice?
aflowerpetal posted:
I am trying a completely holistic approach to dealing with my GERD and I have been using DGL licorice for the past 2 months. I find that if I do start getting the sensation of acid reflux, I chew two DGL licorice tablets (which taste horrible) and it works like a charm. Yes, I realize Tums and Rolaids tastes better than DGL licorice but DGL licorice is a natural substance and has no side effects like the other two medicines do.

I am also experimenting with taking Betain HCI with Pepsin on the theory that my acid reflux is not truly due to "too much" stomach acid, but more a case of "not enough" stomach acid. So far, I have to say that my GERD seems very well under control considering I am taking no true medications to treat it and only using the natural methods.

I will say that the Betain HCI with Pepsin tends to give me that "famished" feeling in my tummy but if I eat a little something it calms right down.

Just curious if anyone else uses the DGL licorice and what sort of results you have with it.

Also, if anyone else is trying the Betain HCI with Pepsin, I'd be curious as to what sort of results you are having with it as well.

VegasEvan responded:
Ive used DGL, works ok. Also use probiotic at breakfast and a vegetarian digestive enzyme with dinner, Seem to work fine, but had some breakthrough GERD (Mexican food?) and had to ge back to tagamet. The H2 blocker also worked for a week, then got abdominal pain, gassy with that. So Im not on 2 gaviscon at night before bed, which works well.

jrp111 responded:
Hello,