Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Digestive Disorders Health Center | Heartburn/GERD Health Center | Crohn's Disease Health Center | Celiac Disease Health Center | IBS Health Center | IBD Health Center | Hepatitis Community | The health professionals are not available at the current time to answer community members' questions.
IBS-D & Pregnancy *LONG*
kayleen4246 posted:
Hi everyone, This is my first time posting & I also did post this over on the pregnancy boards but I thought help from this side would be good too. Some background: I have had IBS for 3 yrs w/o knowledge of what made it start. I had a roll-over accident right before onset so possibly stress induced but also had a C-diff infection that wasn't found for over a year. I still have really bad problems and have been on every medication they could think of *anti-spasmodic, bile binders, probiotics, anti-depressants *various*, anxiety meds, colon cleansers, elimination diets, allergy testing, lotronex, hypnosis* and not much made a difference. I found minimal relief on a combination of lotronex and questran (bile-binder) and I also eat no dairy as I have a very mild allergy and I'm willing to do anything at this point to stop this. It has made working almost impossible though I do barely hold on to my job at this point. However, my doctor wants me to get off the lotronex which scares the h*ll out of me. So here is the situation: I am in my 3rd trimester, 29 weeks on Thursday. TMI: I have had a bad stomach ache for almost three weeks now, not to the point of dehydration but definite diarrhea and painful cramps *Definitly stomach ones, not baby as far as I can tell* This is every day, multiple times a day & very painful along with bad bloating. My doctors kept me on it throughout my pregnancy at the risk of losing the baby due to complications from it. Anyways, I was reading that sometimes the transitions between trimesters can cause stomach problems due to fluctuating hormones. Have a