Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Digestive Disorders Health Center | Heartburn/GERD Health Center | Crohn's Disease Health Center | Celiac Disease Health Center | IBS Health Center | IBD Health Center | Hepatitis Community | The health professionals are not available at the current time to answer community members' questions.
diahhrea
confined posted:
I have severe diahhrea which keeps me confined to my home. I get no warning and cannot get to the bathroom most of the time. I am going through Depends like they were free, which they are not. I have been battling this for 10 years but in the last 3 years it has gotten progressively worse. First I was told I had a parasite..then I was told I had irratible bowel syndrome then I was told I had celiac's so I followed the gluten free program for over 2 years with no difference...then I was told, after another round of tests, that I did not have celiac's so they took me off of that diet and told me to avoid dairy..that has not helped either. I have had several colonoscopy procedures with no results, I am taking anti-diahhreal meds that are no help including cholestyramine 2 times a day.

My daughter thinks it is probably a combination of the medications I am on which include Buspirone, Diphenoxylate-Atropine, Citalopram, Carvedilol, Losartan, Acyclovir, Zolpidem, Plavix and Simvastin. I am not diabetic, have slightly elevated BP, my cholesterol level is not high and I have a pacemaker/defibrilator. However, I constantly have gas and diahhrea...if anyone out there has any ideas of something I can do to help I would be so grateful. I want to be able to go to town without fear of messing myself and having to turn around and come home or worse yet having it run down my legs which is has on many occasions. Help!!

everydayizagift responded: