Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Digestive Disorders Health Center | Heartburn/GERD Health Center | Crohn's Disease Health Center | Celiac Disease Health Center | IBS Health Center | IBD Health Center | Hepatitis Community | The health professionals are not available at the current time to answer community members' questions.
What can I take, or do, to relieve occasional bleeding, from hemorrhoids?
RodAtWork posted:
I've had hemorrhoids for a few years now. Basically, I've learned how to live with this condition. At work and at home, I have a pillow that I sit on, when I have to sit (I work as a computer programmer, so I have to do a lot of sitting). Also, as much as possible, I get up for frequent, short (<5 minutes) breaks, which I've found really help me a lot.

But some times I have to sit for long periods of time in other offices, or meetings, etc. In such situations I am at a real disadvantage. I have to be there for 2 to 3 hours at a time. When that happens, I'm in trouble. What can I do to help stop the bleeding? I figure that taking aspirin isn't a good idea, so what else can I do?

misskatmama responded:
Hi Rod,