Skip to content
Hello
msare posted:
Hi, I'm new to this so here it goes- I'm 19 and have had eating disorders for 6 years. I've never been content with who I am and my body image. I know everything that I want to be. I have aspirations to be healthy and happy, but no matter how hard I try, I slip up. I binge eat when I'm bored, stressed, or sad. I hate myself for these actions. I have an average body size, but I desire so much to be thin. I used to extreme diet, but in recent years, go through periods of binging and dieting. I think about food all the time, and I cannot control myself. I wish I could stop caring and trying so hard to look good because my success is illusive. When I make progress, I only fall further. Instead of beating myself up I should just let things go. But this is impossible. Happiness does not come easy for me.

lostkate responded:
Hi msare,
Welcome, you are not alone in your battle and its very hard to do it alone. Are you seeing a therapist or have a friend to talk too? I beat myself up all the time and need to learn to let things go in a healthier way than what I am doing now. It's not easy. Many people here understand what your dealing with. I never actually sat down an binged, I usually find myself eating all day, a snack here, a snack there, on and on. Then I stop eating all together. I am trying to find the middle of it all. We all slip but we keep trying, it will get better. Not having a great time lately myself.

Kate

msare replied to lostkate's response:
Thanks Kate,
It's good to know people out there are trying to help by relating their stories. It is very hard to see a light at the end of the tunnel. We rise and fall, but in the end, how could everything suddenly be resolved? So often, I feel hopeless and disgusted with myself. It affects all areas of my life and I have considerably low self esteem.