Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
A long term habit of one meal a day?
Not12Quit5 posted:
for well over 10 years now, I rarely eat more than once a day, usually iIin the evening. This has not caused any issues in terms of general hhealth, and my yearly health, and blood tests have been fine.

My wife and doctor have expressed concern, early on, but in the past few years they both see this as my body's method of nutriion, and since it is not causing any complications, that it is fine.

I am a General carpenter with a very active and often physically demanding work life that provides plenty of exercise. I am also a bit "overwheight" for my hieght 6'1", 220 lbs, but a lot of that is "muscle" with perhaps 15-20 lbs of "stomach fat. My optimum wheight has always been 190-200 as I have been 6'1 ince I was 19.

I wonder if I have just adpapted to an eating disorder, or is the one meal a day all that is necessary for my body. I also wonder how I can become overwheight? I do no "snack" except one or twice a week I may indudge in a chocolate bar, or bag of chips. I also do not drink, except for the occasional glass of wine with a weekend meal. I hat the tast of most liqcuours, and was a beer drinker early on, but in past couple of years I would be pussing it if I had more that thre or four beer during a months time.

Oopsla responded:
One meal a day is not a disorder. Be happy about that.

What I guess is happening is that each meal you have is just a few calories too many. You are just getting that slow creep of weight gain. Just eat slightly less.