Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Losing much weight
fourtyfourcounting posted:
I am 44, eat 4-5 big meals a day, and losing weight fast. I am prior military and have always been very active my whole life. Along with weight loss my eyes are getting worse and seems like just overnight. Is cancer a possibility?

bigred53 responded:
Have you been to the doctor and had a physical including blood work lately?

Before I was officially diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes I lost a lot of weight and I was eating everything in sight. I was also drinking gallons of water (it seemed). My eyesight also got a little strange too.

I am not a medical professional but IMO I think there is a strong possibility that you are a Type 2 diabetic. A simple blood test can confirm whether you are or aren't. Additionally a person does not have to be overweight to have Type 2 diabetes.

Get checked out. I wish you much luck. Type 2 diabetes is very controllable with the right medication and proper diet and exercise.

Michelle

fourtyfourcounting replied to bigred53's response:
Hmmm. I do drink and drink and drink. Never seems to be enough. Did your eyes get better? In 44 years I have only known my 17 year old niece to have diabetes. I have begun exercises like treadmill. Im just freaking out. Thank you for sharing the information and best of luck to you also.

bigred53 replied to fourtyfourcounting's response:
After I was diagnosed and got medication and my sugar numbers started going down my eyes got worse for a while. It takes your eyes a while to get used to less sugar in the blood. My blood sugar was over 400 at the time I was diagnosed - way too high. I was lucky in that I had a co-worker who told me what would happen with my eyes. They returned to normal after a month or so. Don't go running to the optomitrist right away because you could be wasting your money.