Skip to content

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? Visit the Epilepsy Health Center, check out community tips and review resources.
If you didn?t have epilepsy, how would you change your life?
phylisfeinerjohnson posted:
I have to admit, I'd still be a writer. Writing is my passion, it's what gets me up in the morning and I couldn't imagine living without it.
Yes, sometimes I can't find the keyboard, sometimes I can't think straight and sometimes, I can't concentrate.
Be since I'm a freelancer, it will always be there, waiting for me.
Others aren't as fortunate, I know. They want to be in the military, the medical field, teach, go to college or graduate school, be an engineer, work in retail, DRIVE?the list is endless.
But if you did have the options — without epilepsy haunting you — what would you choose to do?

Phylis Feiner Johnbson
www.epilepsytalk.com

dancer86442 responded:
I would be a Counselor w/ a Degree! Which was my goal B4 seizures struck. I wanted to be able to Counsel men & women returning from Active Duty. Ironically, the Military Diagnosed me w/ Seizure Disorder.

But, my EP has given me the opportunity to Counsel (w/out a degree) those who are struggling in our world of Ep. And I 'practice' counseling non-Ep kids/teens/adults that have always found their way to me.

So, in a sense, it ain't what I chose, it's what chose me! Make sense?

HUGS

Love Candi

saxofone1 responded:
Hi phylis,

Before my seizures began in '75 I was thinking about medical school. I carried a B A GPA through most of my schools years prior to the first seizure in March '75. The meds made it hard for me to immediately recall info when I was taking tests. Also the meds/seizures made it difficult to study and retain info.

I started working with the elementary schools while I was taking a medical leave from college. I was then studying journalism, Like you, I always had a style or passion for writing.