Question re a friend's child and possible seizures
hootyowl2 posted:
Friends of mine have a lovely 9 year old daughter. Today at church, I noticed she was having a lot of involuntary twitching and muscle movements that looked like seizure activity to me. Her face, head, and shoulders were jerking around a lot. I am not a doctor, but I did mention it to another friend who is a nurse. She said she would try to keep an eye on the girl when she can and see what she thought. She was not sitting where she could see the child. I also mentioned it to my friend who is the mother, and she thinks it is just "mannerisms" and is trying to get her to stop them. I encouraged her to keep an eye on the child, and that they could easily be seizures of some kind and she may need to take her to a doctor. I had my seizures for years before I knew what they were because they were not the typical grand mals that everyone knows.

Do you guys think they are seizures too? My friends do not go to doctors very much, so convincing them could be difficult.

Hooty

saxofone1 responded:
Hi Hooty,

From what you have shared, certainly sounds like a strong possibility of a seizure disorder. Wow, "mannerisms", I never heard that one before.

I feel you did the right thing in mentioning it to your friends. Now, it is the hands of the child's parents to seek answers. You've done about all that you can do. You spoke up and brought it their attention. I have a feeling that you will be keeping on the alert in regards to this child. Even from a distance.

Parents can be a problem sometimes. They feel they know their child better than any one else. In some areas this might be true. "No, my child isn't like that, no my son/daughter doesn't have....".

Thanks for being on the alert. Take care.
angie

BlazingTiger responded:
From what you are explaining it definitly sounds like a seizure to me. do what it take to get them to take her to the doctor. it is very vital.

Jason