Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? Visit the Epilepsy Health Center, check out community tips and review resources.
I'm new to this but maybe someone can help me with my problem?
npfm1311 posted:
Hi, I'm 22yrs old and I have been having seizures since I was 13. Over the last 9yrs I have seen 5 different doctors and every one says just about the same thing "You have a seizure disorder, we do not want to classify it as epilepsy" and they also say "Your seizures are coming from the front part of your brain" and "We've never seen a person with seizures like this". They all have done EEGs, Catscans, MRIs everything and they still can't figure it out. I only have seizures when I first wake up, if I even have them. I don't have them every day I have them maybe once or twice a month, they have been changing my medications so much in the last 2yrs, I go 1month and be ok and then the next month, I have 3. Like I said it's only when I wake up from not enough sleep or I get startled, and even when I don't have enough sleep or you startle me I won't have a seizure. They come and go when they want even when I'm on the medication or when I'm off of it. Every seizure that I have is a Grand Mal seizure, I've stopped breathing having them, needed stitches in my mouth, given myself black eyes, dislocated my shoulder. Does anyone have any suggestions or any thoughts as to what causes my seizures or if you have heard of something similar to this?

dancer86442 responded:
Hi npfm,

Heard of This? Honey, I started doing the Same at age 26. I was going to a County Hospital & saw a New Dr every 6 mths. Took 10 yrs to find a med for me. Now, after Researching & Learning More about Seizures & Treatments I Wish I had been Informed about Diets & Other Possible Alternatives.