Skip to content

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? Visit the Epilepsy Health Center, check out community tips and review resources.
Can a child with doose syndrome control his/her behavior?
SpeakingUp posted:
I am a teacher and have a child in my room with Doose Syndrome. I
have been told by his/her parents that she cannot control her behavior.
She has been in my room since August 9th and I have noticed that she
seems to act up when she does not want to do something. I do not know anything about this syndrome and would like information about its effects.

dancer86442 responded:
Sometimes what ppl experience is 'unique' unto them. I do know that Neurological Issues such as Doose Syndrome/Epilepsy Can cause Behavioral Issues. But, so can the medications we are on to treat the disorder. Wikipedia can describe what to expect as far as seizure activity, but does not include behavioral issues. Several Types of Seizure symptoms can be noted. Resources: Epilepsy Faqs has descriptions of the various Types of Seizures.

For Even More Info, Visit the Epilepsy Foundation. Site is listed in our Resources. Search for Doose Syndrome. Plus, (Search Again) there should be a Foundation in your State & possibly an affiliate near you & ask them for material that would help you. They can, also, send a rep to your school to educate you, the nurse & the Whole school. A Lot of Schools are doing this now. Education about Doose Syndrome (which is just 1 of many Types of Epilepsy) & all it's aspects Needs to be Shared w/ Everyone. Adults & Kids! Unfortunately, Epilepsy is a health Issue that a Lot of PPL know nothing about. Everywhere. Yet over 65 Million ppl, worldwide, are affected And it is the Oldest Disorder Known to Mankind. You can Help by getting this Info 'shared' w/ your school. Definitely 'Speak Up'!