Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? Visit the Epilepsy Health Center, check out community tips and review resources.
Tiger6mom posted:
I'm very new to the epilepsy community. My husband has being dealing with this since he was 13, he's now 42. His seizures happen at night when his body is very relaxed. I know I need to find some way to deal with my own anxiety about the seizures, but every time they scare me. I wonder what's really happening to him. He told me that his seizures effect the part of the brain responsible for short term memory and that with every seizure it causes more brain damage. I love him so much I don't want him to hurt

dancer86442 responded:
Hello Tiger,
Welcome to our Community. You can clik on my pic or userID to learn more about me. Your husband has been dealing w/ seizures almost as long as I have. What's really happening. I guess the best way to explain is to ask you to imagine our brain as a thunderstorm. When lightning strikes it causes a seizure. Another way to explain is the neurons in our brain misfire causing a seizure. Sometimes this can cause very small lesions on our brain. Brain damage? Not if they are the 'normal' 2-3 min. seizures. Brain damage occurs when a person has seizures that are non-stop & last for over those minutes. These are known as Status Seizures. Me, my sister & my daughter have experienced no brain damage. It's true that our Epilepsy can affect our memories. But, so can the meds we are on. Is your Hubby on medication or any Epilepsy Treatment? Hurt? The majority of us do not feel anything during a seizure. It's the after affects that can hurt. Sore Muscles, chewed tongue, confusion, etc. The worst of the short term memory is usually after a seizure. Some people don't recall family/friends, etc. for min, hrs, days, even weeks.