Child's Epilepsy
An_254050 posted:
About 2 years ago my daughter was diagnose with Absent Seizures. I'm relatively new to this since nobody in my family nor her father's family suffers from Epilepsy. Maybe it was the fact that she wasn't full term and she was born at 34 weeks. Her first year of being diagnose she drank the medication, and was still having seizures but not as often. Second year was really though since she got a higher dose and she was having mood swings. Also she has a history in Asthma. So when winter came around, and got sick.. She was a zombie due to all the medication she was drinking. Now she's 7 years ago.. Drinking 3 different types of medications for the Absent Seizure. My daughter throws up every time she drinks the medication. I have tried giving her juice and water right after and it doesn't work. I don't know if she's tense of drinking the medication since she fuss and flight all the time. She also has been sleeping a lot lately. She falls asleep everywhere. My daughter has always been active and lately all she does is sleep. I don't know if is caused by the medication. I would like to know tips or if some parents are going through the same thing.

Thank You

dancer86442 responded:
Hello, Welcome to Epilepsy Community. First Tip: Start a Daily Journal. More Info under Helpful Tips. Next: Seek another opinion. epilepsytalk.com listed in Tips or Resources has A List of DRs recommended by others' w/ Epilepsy. An Epileptologist would be my next DR. They are Neuros who Specialize in Epilepsy. If you have none nearby, then ask the Next DR you call, if they Specialize in Seizure Disorders or Epilepsy. A Lot of Neuros Don't!