Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

Newly diagnosed? Visit the Epilepsy Health Center, check out community tips and review resources.
Bluetooth devices and Seizures
joekapala posted:
As I am new to this whole issue, I have been trying to rule out different things that I have been exposed to prior to my 1st Seizure on the 28th of March. The common thing that keeps coming up after 25 years in the Marine Corps without a incident of seizures. And believe me what I put myself through in those years and through the war in Iraq it's been very easy to rule out different things.
But as I go down my list. I started using a bluetooth device on my left ear arpx 2 years ago. As time went on I remember, a fog affect on my left side, headaches on my left side behind my left ear. I didn't think anything of it then. But now that I had the seizure I am concerned that it could be the bluetooth and/or cell phone usage. My job as a supervisor I am on the road 8-12 hrs per day constantly on the phone.
Now my old nuro did an EEG and found the test as abnormal due to localized sharp activities... And emerged predomaninatly from the left temproal area. Supporting the diagnosis of seizure disorder.
Wow - thats hard to swallow...
But, now looking back the only thing that I can point to is the bluetooth device. I am hoping someone out there might have a similar thought or have come accross studies that indicate these devices could be the cause of Seizures.
R/S Joe
FirstPrevious12NextLast

dancer86442 responded:
Hi Joe,

My service was down yesterday. Did a quick search & first site I read is concerned about radiation emission from cordless phones (higher then cell phones, believe it or not) cell phones & Bluetooth causing cancer. But, if they do cause brain tumors (as suspected) that would cause seizures.

More Research needs to be done in this area. Give it another 10 yrs for answers. Till then, go w/ your gut & ditch the thing.