Skip to content
needing support..9yr old son, bipolar/adhd on so many meds
AllForMySonNC posted:
I'm new to this, and not sure why I haven't started sooner. My 9yr old son was diagnosed at age 3 with ADHD and at 5 after being tested for aspergers, came back with a diagnosis of ODD and bipolar. After swallowing the hard pill, I've been in defense and fight mode on his behalf, as well as having a now 13 yr old daughter that watches the struggles we go through every day with my son and tries to be a good role model for her brother and a support to me since I am a single mother.

My son is on 5 different medications (I know, it makes me cringe too) and for as much that goes into his little body, he should be further along with his behavior and should not be experiencing a backslide right now that has me seeking a doctor at Duke University or Chapel Hill for a re-eval and a change.

Dealing with the public school system has also been challenging, even with telling his school prior to starting K I needed an IEP in place. He has one, yet we're still facing FAR too many issues and instances where he has to be picked up for his behavior, and is currently suspended for 2 days for hitting a teacher. I'm heartbroken, tired of talking about it when people ask out of concern, yet really need to know I'm not alone. Any input or advice you have is welcome. I just feel with all the meds he is on, he should be episode free...that's just not the case. It's like having the weight of the world on my shoulders with every decision I make on his behalf, wondering if I'm doing the right thing....

Hope to hear from someone that can relate
Wendy

momuv4girls responded:
Hi Wendy,

Oh yes, I can relate!!!!!

Parenting a child w/mood issues is very, very challenging - - it seems like daily there are new struggles and navigating through them is exhausting, draining and taps our mental energy!!!!

My daughter has a similar dx as your son. What meds is he currently on?