Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
11 yr old son
crazymomofthree posted:
Hello,

I am new to this and have been reading everyone's posts. It made me feel so much better to see I'm not alone. My husband and I have been dealing with this since he was 2. He always seemed "different". At age 4 he was diagnosed with ADHD. He has been on meds since then. We've tried our fair share and had the best results with a mix of Focalin and Focalin XR. He also started taking Lexapro for depression about 1 year ago. He is turning 12 in less than a month and this past year has been nothing short of hell. We also have two other children, twin girls (7). I am very proactive and we have always taken his mental health very seriously, seeking out the best Dr.s we can find. The pediatric psychiatrist we see is amazing. The fighting over what should be minor things is out of control. His behavior has become more and more odd. He is always pulling pieces of his hair out, lying about EVERYTHING to the point where I don't know if he even knows the truth. He has become increasingly more violent, hurting himself on purpose and the disrespect is off the wall!!! He has not been officially diagnosed with bipolar but his doctor suspects it could be a problem we're looking at. He started him on 2 mg of Abilify today and he is now in bed. I felt sick when he took his first pill. I am so nervous of what it will do to him and afraid to wake up. Please pray he is okay and that it gives our family some hope. I am tired, exhausted, scared and out of options... Does anyone have a similar situation with lying, harming himself, running away, etc...? I am his adoptive mom as his biological mom recently voluntarily gave him up. His dad (my husband) is his biological father. His "mom" does have bipolar herself as does much of her family. It's hard to decipher what parts of his behavior are from terrible life experiences (abuse, abandonment) and what parts are truly out of his control. As scared as I am, y