Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I am a newbie here
pat_johnson posted:
My name is Pat and I live in southern Indiana. I pretty much self diagnosed myself for fibromyalgia but the doctor did a lot of tests and finally came to that diagnosis herself. Actually she is a nurse practicioner. (please excuse my spelling) I have been diagnosed with fibro. for a couple of months now. I am currently taking Cymbalta 60 mg once a day for the pain but it is not helping much. I go back and see her the first part of August. I am so glad I found this board because at times I feel so alone with no one to talk to about my disease. Seems no one else understands.

Booch007 responded:
Good morning Pat, welcome and YOU ARE NOT ALONE...

There are so many of us with this dreaded disease. It is real, we fight it everyday....sword in hand and sense of humor in our pockets.

Please stay and use us for information, guidance, a shoulder, Dr.P and his great advice and also humor......

We are all on this road and I am so glad you found us, for years I had no one, well I had no diagnosis......it was very hard. When I finally met the neurologist who cares for me, it was so validating that someone finally knew what I had!

This diagnosis is becoming more prevalent, the physicians are becoming more knowledgeable and in hope that research is continuing to help figure this out.....we will get better.

And I say that to you too....this is the worst part (where you are now) the trial and error part. This med works and this one doesn't...this one really near killed me with side effects and this one I didn't see a change at all.

Most of us are on a cocktail of meds...muscle relaxants, pain modifier and an SSNRI. So far I see the SSNRI is there...so there is work still to do.

Move slowly, journal your days so you can see the change or help you remember the side effects you had.