Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Non-narcotic pain meds, suggestions?
zoesmommy1024 posted:
Hey everyone, I'm new to this whole fibro thing, and what fun I am having I have been in constant pain for the past few years and just recently got diagnosed. My pain is basically 24/7 and gets worse at nighttime. I have tried cymbalta, which I was already on before, and did not see any results. I take a whole slew of other meds and it started interacting with some of them so my doc decided to cut it back. I have a unique situation with regards to pain medication since I am a recovering addict and that pretty much takes away a whole bunch of meds. I am not really sure where to go from here since it seems like my doctor is waiting for my word on whether or not I want to try a different med. I was wondering what experiences anyone has had with lyrica because I'm thinking about trying that or if anyone knows about any other non-narcotic pain meds? I have recently started taking vitamin D because my level was seriously low, I'm hoping that will help some because I can't see myself being able to take this pain much longer. I take a bunch of other meds for the other problems associated with fibro so the pain is really my main focus right now. I have also been using things like meditation and heat therapy to treat my pain and I am on a regular exercise schedule but it seems like nothing is really helping. Any suggestions would be great!

BamaNik responded:
I take tramadol, its a non narcotic pain med that several of us use. It really works well for me. It gives me a little boost of energy after I take a second dose. The only downside, for me anyway, is that I cant take it past 5pm or so or it keeps me up. I think Im just sensitive to the serotonin boost it gives me.

Nicole
Life is not waiting for the storm to pass...its about learning how to dance in the rain..

cali824 responded: