Skip to content
How many people have had FM since they were a teen?
putrkgirl posted:
Hello,
My name is Brandy and I am new to the FMily! I am 30 years old and I have had cronic pain since I was 12. It started out with migraines then progressed to "Growing Pains" that never went away.

I am afraid to start a family due to this disease and the cronic back problems I have. Can anyone give me some advice?

I lucked out and my husband is very understanding. My parents are starting to come around to the idea that there is something wrong and I'm not lazy. I have a really hard time with this and the depression meds aren't really helping. I was fired in 2009 and that just sent me over the edge!!! I was sick and they couldn't figure out what was wrong. Still haven't solved the problem. I feel really worthless.

Thanks for letting me vent! It's just nice to know I'm not alone!!!!!

diannarebecca responded:
Hi Brandy! I understand exactly what you are saying. I have been suffering since at least age 13 with migraines, back pain & general pain which like you I was told were growing pains. Nobody could understand why I hurt so much & I was made to feel like I was just a huge whimp. Although my family is more understanding now they still don't really get it.

I am 34 & I had my first child at 15. My second pregnancy at 22 was much harder but I hadn't been diagnosed yet at that time so with only a teenage pregnancy to compare it to I thought the pregnancy was normal.

I don't see any reason to put off pregnancy if you really want children. Your husband and family will have to understand that you will need their support and assistance & you will have to understand that you need to allow your body extra rest. I would suggest getting a referal to a rheumatologist who may be more knowledgeable about fibro & asking for information to supply to your gyno or better yet, ask the two doctors to share information about your care.

Are you on any medications?

jroseland responded: