Skip to content
Any advice?
GoldnTrieverGal posted:
I'm new to this and I've never posted anything on the Internet before; but I'm desperate and I don't know where else to turn. I've just been released from the hospital for Seratonin Syndrome; caused because my dr. had prescribed an antidepressant and Savella together. My dr. is a wonderful person, but now I'm really frightened. The pain is horrible, I'm still weaning off of the Savella, and the effects of the Seratonin Syndrome are still present. I'm single and afraid that I'm going to lose my job because of all the absences I've had. Previous doctors have told me that a) FM is what a dr. prescribes when they can't figure out what's wrong with you, or b) still considered a psychological disorder, or c) there's no such thing. Now I've found a physician that acknowledges that FM exists, but his treatment plan landed me in the hospital for 3 days. How do I locate another dr. and how do I prevent this from happening again? I'm terrified of being a bag-lady with my dog, a bag-lady in severe pain. I'm so depressed that I can't even articulate it. Any suggestions would be so welcome. I'm in Phoenix, AZ if anyone can recommend a dr. here. Thank you so much.

dollbug responded:
Hello and welcome.....sorry that you are dealing with so much right now.....MiMi in NC....I am glad though that you have found this unique FM support group.....I first want to assure you that FM is real....and it is a mean and ugly illness....

You need to learn all you can about the wrath of the dragon, aka FM.....as the more you know...the better off you will be....this, like anything else though....takes time....there are no quick fixes.....I am so sorry that you got so sick....I can only say that we FMers must do our own research....and make sure that if we get sick....to go to the doctor right away...