Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Newbie with a BAD case of Fibro Fog - I think
DtaRock posted:
Hello,

I am a newbie, though I have lurked off and on for 3-4 yrs. I fell down my home stairs (4 steps) 9 yrs ago. Was wearing a back pack with 50 lb of books. I blew out my lower back (L5-S1). Had 2 failed fusion surgeries.

From that moment on, my life has been a PAINFUL living hell. I went from being a Univ. Professor to not being able to even keep a single thought together. Am 100% disabled per SS on my initial hearing. Would do almost anything to be able to do ANY sort of work again.

Take Morphine (short acting and CR), muscle relaxant, Ambien & Lyrica, and a muscle relaxant. No Vitamin D or testostorone level in my system. A Psychologist was my real savior.

Now, why am I writing? I have many major cognitive problems often grouped and called fibro fog. I have a problem recalling correct words, unable to remember things I use to easily remember, can not get many things from short term memory into long term permanent memory, misplace my keys, while out driving forget where or why I am out, people I know but can not recall their names or how they know me, unable to add 2-3 digit numbers together in my head. It goes on and on. Originally thought I was loosing my mind but found out by going here and the RA site that these problems are called fibro fog (misnamed however).

I WAS a CPA & a Univ. Professor. However, I can not get even close to the level of a HS Teacher or a Univ Prof. In fact, I can not remember a procedure that takes 3-4 steps to complete, like a Dinner with a few steps. I get started cooking and simply repeat and repeat the steps. FINALLY I give up in disgust. I am looking for help in what works for you guys AND more importantly - continues to work. I have tried some things, but am still stuck with things that don't really do much. Most Doctors are worthless in this new area. Any help you have found would be GREATLY appreciated!