Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Having a Tough Weekend
Shan_Codi posted:
Lets just start by saying Im having a rough weekend. Im a 22 year old first grade teacher. This is my first year teaching and I'm going insane from stress. Well leave it to the dragon to take advantage of the stress.

I was only diagnosed in August and have kind of kept it secret from most friends....The only people I really talk to about my Fibro and how it makes me feel are my parents, fiance and best friend. I have never dreamed of letting anyone at work in.

Well Friday I got a horrible shooting pain down my hips, right on the bone. It made it unbearable to drive, to walk. It spread to my lower back, made me feel like I was walking with two broken hips and a knife in my back. I was forced to talk to my Assistant Principal and a neighboring teacher about my condition... ::sigh:: and was sent home.

Its not that I dont want people to know....well I guess it is. I dont want the attention ...the pity that people automatically give you when they find out something is wrong... I havent really had a chance to talk to anyone about this and all everyone says is "well just tell people you have to deal with it"....I dont want to. I just want it to go away.

All weekend I had the back pain, spontaneous hand tremors, weakness in my arms and hands... It is just too much for one person to handle. I have felt very depressed and defeated lately and am not sure what to do. :::sigh:::

calicogirl63 responded:
I am so sorry to hear you are in so much pain! I am a retired/disabled teacher myself (high school English and drama) who feels your pain! Fibro pain and depression finally forced me to stop working this fall. Don't let fibro get the best of you!!

It sounds like you may have a pinched nerve somewhere. Maybe it is sciatica. Here is an article about back/leg pain:

http://www.webmd.com/back-pain/default.htm

I hope you can get your pain resolved soon. Those children need you!!