Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
disability hearing.....any suggestions?
elle72 posted:
I am new to this message board, but glad I found you all. I am 38yrs old female and I was diagnossed in 1995 and now going through disability and have my hearing on friday and I am so scared! I know I cant work anymore cause of the same ol reasons excessive abesence and tardies. Does any one have any advice for me at my hearing?

jamesii responded:
Hi Elle, Jim here, one of the men with fibro on this post. Good luck to you with the hearing. I will say this from remembrance of my hearing: don't let the judge bully you.

Be positive in your statements that you are unable to work. The judge tried to offer me a job, there was no job that I could do and i said so. Several family members went and testified on my behalf. They tried to intimidate me, I stood my ground.

Be prepared for the judge to ask for more evidence, ask if you have been to the drs, how many times, or why you haven't been. If you went, tell him, if you didn't have the money to go, say so.

I would pray first, show up on time, state my case and defend it. You are not going there to impress him on how well you are doing, if so that will be used against you. If he asks how you are doing, if you are hurting, weak, achey, confused, say it.

Good luck to you. There is nothing worse than not being able to work, wanting to, but can't, and someone trying to shame you for that. That is what I went through.

Let us know how it goes, come back and post often.
A great supportive, praying, helpful people on this site, let us encourage you.

God bless, Ark Jim

elle72 replied to jamesii's response: