Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Painful Pressure Points While Sleeping
Iwillfeelgood posted:
My newest fibro ordeal is painful pressure points during sleep. I have found that if I prop up and place foam pillows at the pressure points, I can actually get a full night's sleep. Does anyone else have this? More importantly, has anyone had any success with a certain mattress, mattress topper, or bed wedge. I've resorted to sleeping propped up on the couch for the cushioning. Some nights are successful. Other nights the couch gives me the heeby jeebies after a while (sort of like full body restless leg syndrome). What about sleeping in a recliner? Any experiences with that? I'm saving for a good recliner to see if that helps.

Dollbug responded:
Hello and welcome.....MiMi in NC.....I wanted to comment to your post....I do not think that I have "talked" to you....I have been sleeping in a recliner since 2005....actually I sleep in the recliner with pillows....so you might say that I sleep on pillows...the recliner is there for support of the pillows...and this is NOT by choice...I might add...but I have found that we FMers have to do whatever it takes to cope better...

I have found out that lying down...and we have a really good mattress...that I enjoyed sleeping on before the wrath of the dragon made itself present....but when I lie down....I automatically stop up....(something to do with sinuses, I guess)...anyway....I can sleep in bed for around 4 or 5 hours...and I wake up in extreme pain...so sleeping in the recliner became a necessity for me...I continue to try to sleep in a bed on ocassion though, hoping that this will get better...but so far...it has not worked out for me...