Skip to content
My Mom
needstounderstand posted:
Hi im new to this but my mother has fibro and i don't know how to be there for her she is always hurting and never comfrontable and i just want to help. Any suggestions would be nice thank you

JoodeeBee responded:
I will only let my daughter touch me. She has such a tender touch and listens to my responses. She uses a lot of oils and lotions, warm or cold compresses.

Just talk quietly and softly and be patient! Hot soothing teas for the 2am pain walk around the house.

It is wonderful you ask! Love works wonders.

Offer to drive her places and when she says she needs to go home go. At first she'll be afraid because of the pain but we isolate ourselves.

dollbug responded:
Hello and welcome....MiMi in NC....I think it is really nice of you to want to be there to help your mother.....please suggest to her to join this unique FM support group....as I am sure that she would benefit from this....we have some good info under "Tips" and "Resources" that you can find to the right of this page....

It would be good if you helped around the house with whatever needs to be done......your mother needs to learn how to pace, pace and pace....with everything that she does...also using heating pads is good....as is taking hot showers with lavender bath salts before bedtime...so that she can relax her body...a lot of us have problems getting enough sleep...and good quality sleep is so important for us...

I would also encourage you to ask your mother if the doctor has checked her Vitamin D level...which is so important for a lot of us....it is a simple blood test but she MUST ASK the doctor to do the test...low Vitamin D can cause some of us additional pain....

Living with FM is a challenge and finding what helps us cope better with this ugly and mean illness is hard also...it takes a trial and error process since we are all different...and what helps one may or may not help another...