Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Coming to terms...
Nortter posted:
I am styruggling with acceptance. I am a 49 year old Nurse and have been "officially" diagnosed with FMS for about 2 years, but associated symptoms have been present several years prior to that. I also have advanced Degenerative Disk Disease and recently had two lumbar disc surgeries within a 9 month period. My last surgery was May, 2010 and I have not been able to work since then. I have a really great physician who has been helpful and supportive. He has encouraged me to work towards acceptance--of my physical limitations and who I am now. I am mourning the loss of my career / profession, my previous ability to be available to all of those that I love (husband, parents, children, grandchildren, in-laws). My husband is now the sole provider and does most of the household duties. I don't know what my purpose in life is anymore. If anyone out there can offer me any insight or recommendations, I would truly appreciate it. Thanks.

xperky responded:
Hi Nortter,

I too had to find a new identity years ago. I was too ill to keep my career as an engineer and felt devastated. It took some time and a whole lot of patience, but I finally found joy in new things, and value in what I could do. It's all about letting go of the old identity and creating a new, even better, one.

I feel for you. Try to find joy in the little things. I imagine the FMS is making things difficult also. I was just diagnosed with it a couple weeks ago, and have been struggling with it for at least two years.

Each day is a test but also a new beginning.

Margaret

annette030 responded:
I don't have any magic wands, just keep on plugging away and you will find a new life. I am an RN also, and had to stop working back in 1998 due to FMS, I went through a terrible depression. I was suicidal for months. I finally used a book called "Feeling Good" by Dr. David burns, MD that my therapist told me about when I moved away.