Skip to content
mental confusion/cognitive issues
zareksmom posted:
Hi everyone,
I am new to this forum and this disorder. I am 33, will be 34 this summer. I have a wonderful 18 month old son, and was just diagnosed last month with fibromyalgia. I have had lots of medical issues over the last 2 years during pregnancy and after, and lots of issues even prior that make more sense with the diagnosis. I work in customer service in a call center enviroment and only returned to work 2 weeks ago, after being out of work since the end of january due to the sever pain. I have also been experiencing a lot of cognitive issues for several months. My dr started me on gabapentin in february, while waiting for appt with rheumatologist for official diagnosis of fibro. The medicine has helped get the widespread pain under control, went from a constant 9 on the pain scale down to about a 3-4 most days. Just saw the rheumatologist agian monday and she reccomended this site and forum for support and education.
Ok, so thats my background info. I am wondering if anyone else has had severe issues with concentration, memory, focus etc? and if so what has helped? These issues are severly affecting my job performance and meeting buisness expectations and I am very worried about losing my job if I can't get this under control. This worry then adds to my stress, which flares my depression, flaring the pain....a vicious cycle to be in.
Would greatly appreciate any suggestions!! Thanks everyone

1wareaglefan responded:
Hey, Zareksmom....I can tell you that cognitive issues are definitely a very common symptom of fibro. Some say it's harder for them to deal with than the pain.

I don't know of anything to help with that, but I believe I've heard of some taking an ADD type medicine that helps them. Hopefully others will be along with some advice.

Oh, this just came to my mind.....isn't ginko- something supposed to be good for mental clarity?