Skip to content
Fibromyalgia and epilepsy
ZarahBS posted:
I am not suggesting that one causes the other or vice versa, I just want to express my concerns, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia 18 months ago and I have had 2 "blackout with seisure" events in 8 months. Surely the two are connected or are they part of another un-diagnosed condition

Zarahbs

annette030 responded:
Why do you feel they are connected at all? Has your doctor said anything about that? It is certainly possible to have more than one condition at a time...

I hope you have seen a neurologist regarding the seizure activity.

Take care, Annette

teacher6734 responded:
I'm not a doctor, but I think fibromyalgia and epilepsy must be connected in some way because the drug Lyrica is used to treat both conditions. It might be related to the vagus nerve??

booch007 responded:
Oh my.........I am also not a doctor, just a nurse.

Two definitely different conditions and I am very concerned for the seizure activity. Are you sure this is what happened? People can have syncope (passing out) and it is from other things and then a seizure can happen due to the low blood pressure to the brain. So it looks like it is neurological but it is NOT.

Please be seen and have a full work up.

The reason the med Lyrica is used for the FM patient and also Neurotin (gabapentin) it's cheapest cousin is for the neurolgenic pain we have. We are always trying to fix the brain chemistry that is off in all of us. Hence the antidepressant arm of our care.

I would also look at what meds are you taking and the sum of the whole may be the cause. If you, let's say have B/P meds and then take pain meds that lower pressure this can create the issue due to low flow. If it is too much medication.

If you are on water pills and are dehysdrated, you can have these symptoms and your overall chemistry can be off.

Why is it I always have questions when I get going.....?????