Skip to content
Small town docs...
ScooterPooterPuddinPie posted:
I posted this under another thread, but thought it should probably have it's own. I'm sorry, I'm new to this sort of thing!!

I have thisproblem with docs in my town, and have no idea what to do about it. The one time I went to the ER I was called a drug-seeker and discharged. The rhreumatologist I saw that diagnosed me told me essentially that people with RA have it much worse and I should change my diet. I am afraid to try to go to a different doctor because I don't want to be seen as "doctor shopping". It's a terrible position to be in in a small town. Any thoughts anyone?

booch007 responded:
First leave the small town! Go to the largest teaching facility in your area. Everyone has a Trauma Center and University Hospital somewhere close to them. You can start there...make the trip and get diagnosed and get started in the right direction. THEN.... this is the big part. Refer back to closer to home once on the right track.

We refer local all the time. It is hard for people to always stay with us. The docs have their friends that they know understand and care for their patients similarly. So, that is what I would do.

I have people that go down to Florida for trips and we have "connections there" to watch over if there is an issue.

Somebody always knows somebody......it is only the jerk that is in the mind set that you are a drug seeker.

When I was on my road to find my champion physician I had my list...

The list said: This is what I know is a triger for problems. This is what helps me *****ALL MY NON MEDICAL TRICKS*** and this is what I take to get by. I need your help as it is more then I can handle at this point.

At that time I also wanted a diagnosis!! I saw 9 doctors. I can tell you some real jerks I saw, some stupid answers out of some learned mouths. BUT THEY DIDN'T KNOW THIS.