Skip to content
Fibromyalgia logo/symbol
Lydia717 posted:
After seeing much discussion online about how many people do not agree that a butterfly should be part of Fibro's symbol, but a dragon instead... I decided to doodle my own version that I may get tattooed in the middle of my shoulderblades.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

foreversore responded:
I really like that! It is so pretty! And purple is my favorite color! I already have a butterfly tattoo (non fibro related) but this is something I would get tatted as well.

Wolfsong452 responded:
I really liked everything about the symbol of the previous post.

I agree, the heart wasn't a good idea, but everything else was great,

I don't know about the snake, isn't that something about longitvity?

I will so some research and get back to you.

Lydia717 replied to Wolfsong452's response:
Forgive my awkward doodle... I am NOT good at this. But I do have tattoo friends that are. I just wanted to see my general idea in front of me.

The other symbol.... the circle w/ the hearts, and then a butterfly in the center (all purple) just didn't do it for me. But the meaning was supposed to be.
1 - circle for never-ending cycle of battling FM
2 - heart to represent hope for a cure.
3. - upside down heart to show how it turns not only our lives, but our loved ones' upside down.
And I never got reasoning for the butterfly.

My dragon needs some feets, so he doesn't look so snakelike. He can still be the neverending circle of battle, but I think a dragon would better show the fire like pain that many of us deal with. I don't mind the hearts.... but even those could be "fiery" and it may look much better.

If anyone wonders where the butterfly went, I will just say the dragon ate it.

Here was the former conversation where I initially saw what the FM symbol is.
http://forums.webmd.com/3/fibromyalgia-exchange/forum/12333

Can't wait to see what you come up with. I just know that most days, I feel more dragon than butterfly. Haha!