Another medication type question
maryfibro24yrs posted:
My DH hurt his shoulder at work and the WC Doc ordered a cream called Voltaren and you have to measure it on a little plastic ruler.
I tried some for my neck pain which is intolerable when we get the cold fronts. I also put some on my knees since I can't get the synvisc injections I'd hope to get. So just curious if anyone else has tried this and if so was it helpful or not? The only other NSAID I use is 800 mg Ibuprofen and I try to keep that to one a day at bed time! I don't get to see my Dr for 3 more months or I'd ask him myself!
Thanks

xperky responded:
My doctor prescribed Voltaren gel for my feet. He told me I could use it along with the Meloxicam NSAID I take daily. Each of us is unique though. I'm no doctor, only a patient, like you, so all I can say is what has worked for me.

One thing to keep in mind - too much Voltaren has been linked to liver problems. If your liver is off, then I wouldn't use it without getting checked often!

I think it is for sale over the counter in Canada, but I don't know the strength.

I have found Voltaren gel to help with the sharp type pain and swelling I get in my feet from arthritis. It doesn't seem to do much for the large muscle aches from FM though. I bet it helps your knees and neck quite a bit.

The next time you see your doctor, you will have to ask him for the prescription! I'm glad you found something to relieve some of your pain.
With Compassion,
Margaret

CelineOC replied to xperky's response:
I find it quite good too, It calms down the Fibro aches in general.
As i take a slow release brufen I go easy with the Voltaren gel.
Hope this helps. Try it and find out if it helps...

Booch007 responded:
Remember that a med absorbed through the skin is STILL absorbed to the body. So though the gastric mucosa is not offended by the irritation of it, side effects of all can be bothersome to your body.