Skip to content
Fibro Flare up
An_242942 posted:
Hello I am new at this but I am hoping to find support for my fibromyalgia. I am having a rare extreme flare up and can't seem to control the pain. Just looking for suggestions for some natural/home remedies that might help lessen the pain some.

katmandulou responded:
Hi An_242942, and welcome. I hope you'll find us helpful and occasionally we'll make you smile!

I was dx'ed in 2005, and have done pretty well. when I have a flare, I make sure I get plenty of sleep (a luxury for some people, I know) and lots of fluids. I'm a big tea drinker and something herbal helps. And if I'm craving something, even if it's bad for me, like chocolate, I give in. I figure I must be craving it for a reason, right?

Have the beast day you possibly can,
Lou

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi and welcome here! Keep talking and reading here. We all use various things to help the pain. (I use exercise and hot showers, changed my work stations, have a memory foam mattress, etc., for example. And many use calcium, magnesium and Vitamin D.)
We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us. ~Joseph Campbell

_Hurricane responded:
chamomile double bag tea..moist heating pads, electric blankets, hot tub, eptson salt baths, give yourself a break without feeling guilty.

1dazygal responded:
Try not and stay in one position too long, you'll get stiff. Try and stretch a little every hour or so.

Most of us use something like tiger balm or stopain spay for a instant break. You just have to keep putting on.

I'm a fan of the heating patches. The ones with metal disc can stay warm up to 8-10 hrs and feel great. The neck ones stay in place and they have other designs.

It's hard rt now with a broken bone but long hot soaks in the tub or a shower feel cozy. Takes a lot of effort for me when in a flare.