Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Pain in elbows?
joyslp posted:
Hello, I'm a newbie also, my doctor said to stay away from other websites except WEBMD. I have recently been dx: with FM and just wondered if anyone else experiences pain in their elbows. My rhemotologists informed me that, the elbow is not usually an area of pain with FM. Anyone else out there with this system? And it's great to finally find a support group to share and learn with.

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi Joyslp,

I'm sure others will be responding but, in the meantime, I wanted to welcome you here. That's cool what your doctor said!
We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us. ~Joseph Campbell

dollbug responded:
Hello joyslp and welcome....MiMi in NC....I am one of the FMers here who has had problems with the elbows...actually I got to where I could not wash my hair or brush my teeth....I ended up having elbow surgery on the right elbow...the neurosurgeon told me that he had no idea what happened to it...it was red, swollen and very inflammed...when he did the surgery on me....it took over 2 years for it to completely heal....

I really needed to know if there was anything else I could do to prevent the left elbow from getting in the same condition as the right one...he did not have any answers for me...

Once it completely healed....I have not had many problems with it....I do have some problems though with the left one....off and on...

I do not know what caused my problems but I do know just how much pain and agony I went through until my elbow healed....

I hope this does not happen to you....

You might try to purchase some elbow braces which on occasion I still have to wear at night....they help me when I am having problems with them...