Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Opiates for FM
Marylyce posted:
I was reading some comments and saw that some of you were talking about taking opiate pain meds for FM. What are some of the opiate pain meds? Loraszepam? I take this and it seems to help more than anything. Is this wht you mean by opiate pain meds?

Nanny29602 responded:
I've never tried Loraszepam before. The one that I was taking was Demerol, but i've developed an allergy for opiates. I can't even take Tylenol with Codiene. Now I have no real pain meds because of my medication allergies. I don't know of any other opiates, I know there has got to be something that I can take for this pain. I think I'm going to go to The Mayo clinic website to see if there is something that is suitable for people with medication allergies. If anyone knows of anything else that I can ask my doctor about, please inform me, thanks

Anon_57995 responded:
Lorazepam is the generic name for Ativan.
Lorazepam is used to relieve anxiety. Lorazepam is in a class of medications called benzodiazepines. It works by slowing activity in the brain to allow for relaxation.

The following link is a list of commonly-prescribed opiates.

Good luck.

Anon_57995 replied to Anon_57995's response:
http://www.opiates.com/opiates/opiate-library.html

Old1now responded:
Lorazepam relaxes me and that sometimes helps with the pain. I have tried Lortab, which is an opiate. It helped with pain from surgery, but when I took some for the muscle/skin/hurting everywhere pain of Fibro, it had no effect. Did not even touch that kind of pain. It's almost like the Fibro pain travels on a whole different nervous system. I wonder if others have had the same experience.

MMM42 responded: