Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
New to this pain
sharonkr11 posted:
Hello Fibro community, I am new to the pain of Fibromyalgia. It is so painful . How do you cope with it?

michmorn responded:
Hi Sharon,

You have come to the right place for sure. We are all in pain at times and struggling to cope with it. Please have lots of patience with yourself and know that it will get better. Check out the members toolbox under resources. There are so many helpful suggestions there. I have lots of warm baths or showers, heating pads, extra pillows and a foamy on your mattress if you find your bed uncomfortable. Some take meds. Some don't. It seems everyone is different in what works best for them so it takes a bit of time to find what is helpful to you and what you are comfortable with. Most of all I think it's important to talk with people who understand what you are going through. I'm so sorry you are in pain. Please know everyone here understands and cares. I hope you find some comfort in that.

((Gentle hugs.))

Michelle

xstitchgrandma responded:
Hey sharonKr11-

well, the best way I have found so far- is taking a very loooong warm shower, seems to help out some....one day- I ended up taking "3" showers- no people donot understand...but they will get it someday-

Randm2220 responded:
Saron,

Welcome! This site is really great for information and support.

Coping with constant pain is not easy. You must pace yourself and listen to your body. Finding the right medicine combo and learning your limitations takes time. It took me 2 years to find my right combo. Even then I am still in constant pain, just not as bad.

Hot showers are the bomb! I love mine and look forward to that time of day. I try to limit to 1 day since I have stopped working. I have a shower message head and I love it. I have a heated foot massager and a heating pad too. I use one that is microwaveable so I can take bed if needed. I also have my favorite pillows.