Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Dr. P: Fibro and fungus??
michmorn posted:
Hi Dr. P and Fibro community,

Just wondering if anyone knows of a correlation between fungal infections and Fibromyalgia? I've read it "could possibly" be one of the causes. Along with trauma and a few others. Would we know if we have a fungal over growth in our bodies?

Thanks in advance.

michmorn responded:
to clarify...I do not think I have a fungal infection. But am curious about how one would know and if there was an over growth and could it cause fibro symptoms if left untreated?

booch007 responded:
I will chime in on this for a moment.

I had always had issue with Candida or a rectal rash (probably TMI) and fungus under the breasts arriving in the summer from sweating.

As a nurse I knew the fix, not the cure....well the bowel balance was so off from the gluten I was ingesting and I took a 3 combo acidophillus med for a while after being gluten free and it straightened out the flora in the bowel....no more of that. AT ALL!

And then I got great advice that I share with every patient with large pendulous breasts or that look like they have issues too. After showering, I dry all crevices with the hair dryer and put my "secret" deoderant under my arms and then a quick swipe under the breasts!!

NEVER did I ever think of this....it is preventive to stop the sweating that is the set up for the skin fungus to grow. Bra, bathing suit and I, am so comfortable now. No stickiness there...

I heard this from Sis in Florida, telling me they all do this in Florida (dang hot there!).

There is alot written on systemic candida infiltration from a leaky gut in IBS or and inflamatory bowel situation. Well, I believe I was there.........

Still here and in trouble but I chip away at each thing that comes my way and try to be better then the day before.
These were my last pearls of wisdom I had received...

I share...Take care, Nancy B

Mark Pellegrino, MD responded: