Skip to content
My first post
FibroGirl1969 posted:
This is my first time posting on here, I have had Fibro for 3 years now and I am still learning what it's all about. I have issues with nights sweets, hotflashes, major pain, watery,dry, burning eyes all day. Does anyone else have these issues and what are you doing to help with these issues.

xperky responded:
Welcome to the site, FibroGirl1969.

I share those symptoms with you. No fun!

Here's a few of my coping methods. No cures, but little things that help:

For night sweats: I keep a fan on and that seems to keep me more comfy. Also, nothing but 100% cotton on me and the bed.

For pain: Now that's a tuffy. I have found Tramadol so helpful. My doctors would like me to take more of it, but I'm trying not to become dependent on it. I also take a muscle relaxer before bed, which helps keep the pain down all day. SalonPas patches help small spots, and Lidoderm patches numb the worst pain spots. Sometimes a heating pad is just enough.

For dry eyes: Some of the otc dry-eye drops help me, some don't. I like TheraTears, Blink, or Bion-Tears. I take them 2-3 times a day, plus whenever my eyes feel bad. My eye doctor prescribed Restasis, but it's so expensive! I gave up on eye makeup a few years ago. Too irritating. Besides, I didn't look any better with redder eyes.

So, I hope those are a few helpful ideas for you. What have you found helpful? You've been dealing with this awful beast for long enough to have some good ideas for us too.
With Compassion,
Margaret

greenwitch68 responded:
Hi & welcome
Nice to meet you. I think you will find, as I did, that this is a great place to be.

For the pain I use Tiger Balm, it is only minor relief, but helpful nonetheless. Be careful it does stain.
I still haven't found the right meds that work for me. I do find Naproxen to help take the edge off a bit.
Good luck and have a great day.
Kath G

Bellagirl31 replied to greenwitch68's response: