Skip to content
Chronic pain in the gluteals
couponer posted:
Hi, I'm new to the FMS Community. Was diagnosed over a year ago with FMS and diagnosed with RA almost 2-1/2 yrs. now. I'm putting out a question in hopes of finding someone else who might have or had something as I do; painful lower gluteals. No matter what position I'm in; standing, sitting, in bed, walking, etc., there's no relief. Has anyone else suffered from this, and if yes, what did you do to help relieve it? I've tried Advil & Tylenol with no success. If I'm lucky, I use any leftover narcotics from surgeries/ER visits.

Any insights are welcomed!

Couponer

gabuschka responded:
hi Couponer, welcome to this community. the only thing which helped me with my painful gluteals has been massage. If you like I can ask the massage therapist if there is a name for this type of massage. it was somewhat rather embarrassing at first but after it helped so much I did not care anymore about that. Best wishes

couponer replied to gabuschka's response:
Hi Gauschka-

Thank you for your reply, and YES, I'd like to know of the name of the massage/technique that this therapist uses ! Thank you for suggesting this and sparing me the embarrassment that comes along with it.

All the best - Couponer

Teelady1 responded:
I have had issues with tight and painful glutes recently.

Massage has helped as well as taking a muscle relaxant at bedtime. Flexeril.

I was waking up during the night and could feel the tight glute muscles. This is not happening as often since taking the flexeril.

gabuschka replied to couponer's response: