Skip to content
Hello, I'm new
bamprice posted:
Hello. I'm new to the discussions, and I would like to hear from some of you. I have not been diagnosed with fibromyalgia (yet), but I really think I have it. I started having pain about a month ago. It is in my feet (feels like I am walking on rocks-very sore), knees (inside of knees very sore and stiff), elbows sore and stiff, hips, thighs, shoulders, feet and ankles swell daily. I have trouble sleeping also. My regular doctor prescribed an arthritis medicine for pain for now, and I am supposed to see a rheumatologist next month. I have never had pain like this before. Family is supportive, but they don't know what this feels like. Again, I would like some feedback from some of you. Does this sound like fibromyalgia?

sp2001 responded:
Hi there & welcome =)All over pain and fatigue are common symptoms with Fibromyalgia. That's good that your going to see a Rheumatologist. He/She will be able to figure out what's going on. I'm sorry your in pain, your definitely not alone there =(

What helped me finally get a diagnosis was keeping track of all my pain, symptoms and fatigue. By doing this, you can be absolutely clear with your Dr. Good luck, and hope you feel better soon!

jillydawn replied to sp2001's response:
I haven't been diagnosed either, but feel I have fibromyalgia too. I haven an appointment in November with a rheumatologist and hope to get some answers. I currently am on pain management due to chronic back/neck issues, but what I'm taking isn't helping other pains, stiffness, exhaustion.

I am using a prescription cream called Voltaren for muscle pain. It helps quite a bit to give some relief (albeit temporary).

Keeping track of symptoms has always helped me in my ongoing journey with numerous doctors. While I have support at home, it's difficult to get across to my family how miserable I feel on a daily basis. I have learned to cope through years of pain and know how hard it is each day.

xperky responded: