Skip to content
fibro and malabsorption?
bopper posted:
Hello. I want to address this to Dr. Pellegrino first. Ever since the weather here in MN changed, I've been in constant pain. My chiropractor insists that if we change what I eat, the pain will vanish. I've been on a gluten-free, dairy-free diet and have been through a candida cleanse. Now back to square one. I just started taking magnesium malate out of desperation. It's SO difficult to adhere to these diets and i'm wondering if there really is a connection/cause?

Thank you for your help!!!!

Anon_10089 responded:
I'm not a doctor. I believe diet can help, but does not cure us, unless of course we have something other than FM.

We've talked on this board about people claiming there are "cures". Yes, if you had Celiacs and had pain similar to FM, then cut out all gluten, it would seem you were cured. If you truly have FM, you wouldn't be cured.

I do well on a high protein, very low grain/sugar diet. However, my pain has never vanished.

I find that many non-traditional doctors claim to have the cure for FM. I do highly believe in using non-traditional treatments for better health, but I think you have to take their claims with a grain of salt. Get what you can, but know there also might be other avenues.

I'm sure others will weigh in and in the meantime, I hope you find some way to get relief!

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Great topic.

I thought I'd let you know that I'm not sure when Dr. P will have a chance to respond to this. He's got a lot of things needing his attention right now. But I'll gather this up for him and send when he's ready.
We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us. ~Joseph Campbell

booch007 responded:
Man it is a tough thing to do all these trials of help.

I am also gluten free and need to be the rest of my life. FM/CMP still here...

I also take 250 mg of magnesium a day....help? A bit.