Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
fibro mum's daughter (19) now also diagnosed... how to handle this
uschi66 posted:
Dear All,
I have been suffering badly from fibro for many years, was diagnosed about 2 years ago and am just about coping with it myself. Now my 19 year old daughter has also been diagnosed. She is living with me and I want to give her all the support she needs/wants. At the moment she doesn't really want to talk about it. She'sbeen on amitriptyline for two nights now and is really tired, also during the day. I believe this will wear off after a while. I am on gabapentine, so I have no experience with amitryptiline.
I have been managing fibro really well, pacing myself and all - but my daughter's diagnosis has thrown me of track a bit and I am experiencing a huge flare up.
Anyone with a similar experience? How do young adults manage fibro at best? And how do you, as a fibro-afflicted parent, manage to help them and cope with the situation yourself?
Any advise welcome!
Thanks

dollbug responded:
Hello ....MiMi in NC....so sorry that you are dealing with so much right now....I am sure though that with time and effort things will indeed get better for you both....as you probably already know living with the wrath of the dragon is a tough issue to deal with....and it is something that we MUST DO each and every day....there are no quick fixes though....anything and everything associated with *it* takes a process.