Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
A support group for people who have little or none in their lives
crystalgreeneyes posted:
For many of us who unfortunately are living with fibromyalgia, we have a daily struggle. Some manage well, others not so well. Chronic pain and fatigue combined with insomnia can lead to depression and that is very common with fibro. as it is with any type of chronic illness. Everyone also reacts differently to drugs. Many improve while others keep searching for something that will work; that won't turn them into a zombie or make them feel sick all the time or maybe even worsen their pain. We do what we have to do to get by.
I don't complain to anyone or tell anyone about my condition but I do post here because it's the only means of support that I have. I am 57. I have a university degree and am very qualified in my profession. When I became physically unable to do my job 2 years ago, I went back to school for a year in a somewhat related field because I wanted to continue to work. Despite my daily pain and fatigue I have been looking for well over a year. I have even had professional help in searching for a job. I have done everything I can possibly can. I definitely could work in a position which involved my standing for long periods because most of my pain is in my back.
My daughter is 22 and I have implored her time and again to help me and yet she doesn't. I can't make either her or my husband understand because they just don't. I have stopped telling them anything about it. I have no family members nearby. When there is no one else to talk to, I write down what I feel because it is good therapy. It may sound like a lot of complaining but it is a method of release - asking others for advice and sharing experiences and ways of dealing with situations.