Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
What medications (prescription or OTC) and diet items work best to help you manage your FM?
bll00 posted:
I am new to this arena and would like to know what is working for others. Thanks

dollbug responded:
Hello bll00 and welcome....MiMi in NC....interesting statement that you have made....very broad subject....I think you have found a good FM support group who will share what they have found that has worked for them....as you probably already know....we are all different....and what helps one may or may not help you....YOU have to do your own trial and error process and decide what helps you....this might take a while though...as you will probably find out it takes a combination of *things* which will work...you should allow at least 6-8 weeks of whatever you decide to start with, unless, of course, it is making you sicker than you have been. It does take time and effort to get your body use to what you are doing for it....in order to get the *full results* of how it just might help you cope better with the wrath of the dragon, aka FM.

I know that in the beginning....my doctor tried all sorts of different medicines....he was actually treating me for *depression* though...I had multiple health issues though and did not find anything which really helped me without causing other side effects...and most of us DO NOT NEED another thing to deal with...you have to be the one to decide though what is working for you.

As for me...I take vitamins and supplements and do other things as well....I have managed to control my FM pain, for the most part...but I am not pain free, nor do I expect to be...(it would be nice though, if the pain just disappeared).