Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Tramadol
booch007 posted:
Good morning Fmily,

I received a letter from the pharmeceautical world to let me know that Tramadol is now a Class III controlled drug.

Not happy about this. I don't see me going to something else or going back to the amount of Motrin I was using. I am going to talk to the doc. It bothers me to be on a class med.

I know that a class III and class IV meds are really a way to monitor how much someone is using or where it is being prescribed.......not becuse it is so dangerous. As a nurse I just didn't want the stigma of a class med in my system. I think my Soma has also gone this way, without them notifying me.

I know this as I can only get 6mo at a time with the refills.

This may only be in GOOD OLE NY...but I wanted you to know things are changing.

In Conn you can get Percocet with a prescription and in NY you need a triplicate form.....so each state is different.

And so we move forward, always changing....re-evaluating....trying to do our best. .

Have a better day today guys..Nancy B

angelswife responded:
I'm wondering if the laws have changed in CT too...when my dentist prescribed the Percs for my jaw, she said the the law only allows her to give ONE PRESCRIPTION per patient. Percocet is the only thing that works for me---I take half a pill at night when I need one so I can sleep through the Neuropathy. I am rationing this prescription like crazy because it's all I have. My regular MD won't give me any because he doesn't want me to become addicted. But for pete's sake---half a pill maybe 2-3 times per week? How can I get addicted from that? I just want a good night's sleep once in a while.

booch007 replied to angelswife's response:
Sharon i tis not addicted, it will be tolerance and needing more to attain relief.