Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
1st Year With Fibro
Padme posted:
So it's my first year with this partner Fibromyalgia of mine, first seven months. Im 29 and I'm really struggling with all the loss that has come with it. I feel like no one talks about the loss. 1. Loss of Job 2. Loss of BF 3. Loss of "Friends" 4. Loss of Apartment 5. Loss of sense of identity 6. Loss of independence...

Those are just a few I experienced in the first three months of figuring out, what is wrong with me??

Its freezing on the East Coast and I want to go move to Hawaii and live a simple easy life. Everyones invited xoxo

I'm just looking for some friends and support and to be a support for others as well. I really hope everyone is having a nice day today <3

jennagale76 responded:
I understand exactly what you feel. When I allow myself to think about how much I've lost, it makes me so sad. I want 'me' back, the one who used to be able to kayak 15 miles and hike 7 miles (barefooted!) with no problem. The one who could stay up late with friends, the one who was strong and independent. I wish I could wrestle with my kids, and play baseball with them and climb trees with them. I wish I could still go to work and be a normal person. It takes everything I've got to get through each day. It's sad. I think a lot of us don't talk about the loss because it's depressing. For me, I try to stay positive because it could be so much worse. But I do feel the loss of myself and I feel guilty about it too. I feel guilty because my husband has to work to support us, and I can't contribute financially. I feel guilty when I'm too sore or tired to play with my kids, or spend private time with my husband. I'm in my mid-30's, and I wonder how I'm going to feel when I'm 60, if I feel this terrible at 36. It's scary and sad.

BetteK responded: